additional information for applicants
- Information on university addresses, essay requirements, deadlines and fees.
- Information on Scholarship university addresses and deadlines.
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Texas University Web Sites
- Automatic Admission of Students in Top 10% of their Graduating Class
- Immunization Requirements
- Tuition Rebate
- Additional Tuition Charges - Early Warning
- List of Texas County Codes
Texas University Web Sites
ApplyTexas can be used for undergraduate admission at any of the following universities:Go to the top of this page
Automatic Admission of Students in the Top 10% of Their High School Graduating Class
Graduates of accredited Texas high schools whose cumulative grade point average ranks them in the top 10% of their graduating class are automatically admissible to any Texas public university upon application as a first-time freshman during the twenty-four months following high school graduation. These students must still submit all required applications and credentials before the deadline in order to be considered for admission.
SB 175, passed by the 81st Legislature in the spring of 2009, modifies the automatic admission program for the University of Texas at Austin. Please see the University of Texas at Austin's website for further information on the automatic admission program at the University of Texas at Austin.Go to the top of this page
Immunization is an integral part of health care. A student's immunizations for measles, tetanus, reubella, and poliomyelitis should be current. The university to which a student applies will request that information. A student should contact his or her physician for more information.Go to the top of this page
Certain students who do not plan to earn a degree from the university they are attending are not required to take the TASP test. However, later transfer into a degree program requires that TASP requirements be met before the first enrollment in that program. These categories include:
- persons aged 55 or older on the first day of classes for the semester who do not plan to seek a degree (are classified as nondegree students);
- students who are actively participating in a degree program at an accredited out-of-state, private, or independent institution of higher education and who are enrolled with nondegree classification at a Texas public institution (each semester these students must provide a grade report, transcript, or statement of standing showing their active and continuing status at the other school); or
- persons who are not citizens of the United States, who are nondegree students and who do not plan to seek a degree.
Freshmen who enter Texas public colleges or universities in Fall 1997 or later may qualify for a $1,000 tuition rebate after college graduation. To qualify, a student:
- must have been a resident of Texas;
- must have taken all coursework at Texas public institutions of higher education; and
- must have been entitled to pay in-state tuition at all times while pursuing his or her degree.
The law provides for the rebate if a student graduates with no more than three attempted hours in excess of the minimum number of hours required for the degree. For example, if your degree requires 120 hours and you graduate with no more than 123 attempted hours, you may qualify for the rebate. Attempted hours include every course for which the student has registered, as of the official Census Day, in every semester, including: developmental courses, repeated courses, courses from which the student withdraws, and credit earned by examination. Students must apply for the tuition rebate prior to receiving their bachelor's degree, using forms provided by their institution.
To learn more about this opportunity, see the rules available from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.Go to the top of this page
In accordance with Texas Education Code §54.068, effective with the Fall semester 1999 students who have attempted 45 or more credit hours beyond the amount required for their degree at Texas public colleges or universities may be charged additional tuition, up to the level of out-of-state tuition. This includes all credit hours in which a student was registered as of the official Census Day for the semester (i.e. repeated courses, failed courses, and courses from which the student withdrew after Census Day); this does not include credit hours for which the student paid out-of-state tuition, courses designated as developmental, any hours removed from admission consideration under Academic Fresh Start (Texas Education Code §51.931), or hours accumulated toward a previous baccalaureate degree. Students who entered higher education for the first time prior to Fall 1999 while classified for tuition purposes as a Texas resident are exempt.Go to the top of this page